Events FAQ about the Award

Please note

The Initiative Chef:innensache does not award a Chef:innensache-Award in 2019.

Please do not send us any applications. Thanks.

What does equal opportunities mean and why is it so important?

The Chef:innensache initiative understands equal opportunities to mean gender balance in leadership positions. This aspiration is important to Chef:innensache, because Germany cannot afford to exclude well trained talents from achieving success. Only if every person – man or woman – has the opportunity to take responsibility commensurate with their strengths, will we as a society make the most of our resources and our potential for new ideas. A performance culture accessible to all is not just a question of equality – it pays off economically.

What is the Chef:innensache Award and who organizes it?

The organizers are seeking organizations that are making a tangible contribution to equal opportunities in the working environment – be it with innovative, cutting-edge measures or through high-impact leadership personalities who lead by example and who create a culture for equal opportunities throughout the organization with suitable frame conditions.

The Award is presented by the Chef:innensache initiative, a network of leaders from business, science/academics, the public sector, and the media who are personally committed to equal opportunity for women and men. Intended as a light-house initiative, the Chef:innensache initiatives’ aspiration and objective are to support the change needed in society with new concepts and approaches. Members are Aktion Mensch, Allianz, BASF, Bayer, Bosch, the German Federal Ministry of Defence, the German Caritas Association, Deutsche Lufthansa, Deutsche Telekom, EnBW, the Fraunhofer Society, Google Germany, IBM Germany, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, McKinsey & Company, Siemens, TÜV Rheinland, Volkswagen, WAREMA Renkhoff, and DIE ZEIT. German Chancellor Angela Merkel is the initiative’s sponsor.

Who can apply for the Award?

The Chef:innensache Award is oriented at organizations of all kinds (e.g., stock corporations, limited liability companies, associations, initiatives), although we would in particular like to encourage small and medium-sized companies to apply. Award winners can stem from industry, politics, education, culture, science, social services, the public sector, or the media.

How and by when can applications be submitted?

Applications can be submitted online using the applicant form (only in German). The closing date for entries is July 31, 2017.

How and by when can I nominate a candidate?

Candidates and potential award winners can be nominated up to July 31, 2017.

Who are the members of the jury?

We are again in the process of assembling a high-caliber jury for the Chef:innensache Award comprising senior managers of the initiative members together with representatives of the business and scientific communities. Drawing on its expertise, the jury will make the final decision as to the award winner. We will present to you the jury members for 2017 here shortly.

What are the assessment criteria for the Award?

The assessment criteria for the Chef:innensache Award are as follows:

  1. Commitment and role modeling by a senior management member dedicated to creating suitable conditions for the implementation and realization of equal opportunities
  2. Development and implementation of a specific and innovative measure in the organization to promote equal opportunities; the measure should already be in the implementation stage
  3. A clearly defined target vision contributing to, and enabling measurement of, progress toward establishing equal opportunities within the organization and the measure’s success

When will the winners of the Chef:innensache Award be announced?

In mid-August 2017, the jury will shortlist the top 3 applicants, who will then be informed and invited to the award ceremony. The winner out of the three nominees will be announced at the award ceremony.

When is the award ceremony?

The award ceremony will be held in conjunction with the ZEIT Economic Forum on September 7, 2017 at St. Michaelis, Hamburg’s main church.

Will the Award only be held once?

No, the Chef:innensache Award will be held annually. If your measure is still in the planning phase, we would encourage you to hold back your application until future editions.

What does the prize entail?

In essence, the Chef:innensache Award entails conceptual assistance for the winning organization along with a high-profile award ceremony at the ZEIT Economic Forum, which will be attended by some 500 decision makers. In addition, the award winner will have the opportunity to collaborate closely with the Chef:innensache initiative beyond the Award. The aim is to jointly develop projects and measures and to learn from each other. The award winner can be assured in-depth exchange and high exposure through the initiative’s network and members.